Call for Papers

GI 2010 will be the 36th Graphics Interface conference; it is the oldest continuously-scheduled conference in the field. GI consistently attracts high-quality papers on recent advances in interactive systems, human computer interaction, and graphics, from around the world.

All paper submissions are fully peer reviewed by two members of the program committee and two external reviewers. Accepted papers will be archived in the ACM Digital Library.

Graphics Interface 2010 will have joint sessions for the graphics and HCI tracks. Topics of interest at GI include (but are not restricted to):

  • Shading and rendering
  • Geometric modeling and meshing
  • Graphics in simulation
  • Image-based rendering
  • Image synthesis and realism
  • Medical and scientific visualization
  • Computer animation
  • Real-time rendering
  • Non-photorealistic rendering
  • Interaction techniques
  • Computer-supported cooperative work
  • Human interface devices
  • Virtual reality
  • Augmented reality
  • Data and information visualization
  • Multimedia
  • Mobile computing
  • Haptic and tangible interfaces
  • Aesthetic Design
  • Affective interfaces
  • Perception

Summary of Deadlines:

  • Papers submission: December 16, 2009 11:59 pm PST
  • Author notification: February 23, 2010
  • Final papers due: March 12, 2010
  • Poster submission: April 21, 2010, 5PM PST

Formatting instructions for paper submissions are available online.

Program Committee:


  • Petros Faloutsos, University of California Los Angeles
  • Xavier Granier, INRIA Bordeaux Sud-ouest
  • Minglun Gong, Memorial University
  • Wolfgang Heidrich, University of British Columbia
  • Chris Joslin, Carleton University
  • Theodore Kim, University of Saskatchewan
  • Paul Kry, McGill University
  • WonSook Lee, University of Ottawa
  • Torsten Möller, Simon Fraser University
  • Pierre Poulin, University of Montreal
  • Faramarz Samavati, University of Calgary
  • Chris Wyman, University of Iowa
  • Richard Zhang, Simon Fraser University


  • Melanie Baljko, York University
  • Lyn Bartram, Simon Fraser University
  • Jeremy Cooperstock, McGill University
  • Sid Fels, University of British Columbia
  • Lichan Hong, Palo Alto Research Center
  • Bill Kapralos, University of Ontario Intitute of Technology
  • Ed Lank, University of Waterloo
  • Karon MacLean, University of British Columbia
  • Mark Perry, Brunel University
  • Jean-Marc Robert, Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal
  • Ehud Sharlin, University of Calgary
  • Roel Vertegaal, Queen's University

Program Co-Chairs:

  • David Mould, Graphics Co-Chair
    Carleton University
    1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 5B6 CANADA
    mould at scs carleton ca

  • Sylvie Noel, HCI Co-Chair
    Communications Research Centre Canada
    3701 Carling Avenue
    PO Box 11490, STN H, Ottawa, Ontario K2H 8S2 CANADA
    sylvie dot noel at crc ca

Posters Chair:

  • WonSook Lee, University of Ottawa

Sponsored by the Canadian Human-Computer Communications Society